Holiday Reading

My holiday books all packed and ready to go!

A holiday is around the corner – hurrah! I haven’t been on a beach holiday for about four years now and I am stupidly excited at the prospect. One of the reasons for my excitement is the opportunity to spend even more time reading books, and hopefully catch up on my goal of reading 52 books this year (I am on number 21 of the year so far, pretty poor for a supposed book blogger…). Two weeks of sunshine and beach reading can’t come soon enough! I have six books packed at the moment and I am waiting on two more arriving in the post. And my boyfriend is taking a few for himself which I may have to muscle my way in on!

Currently packed are as follows:

Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts
I’ve been wanting to read this book for a long, long time, and it’s actually been sitting on my bookshelf looking at me since I started my final year of uni. I was too busy at the time to read it and always felt guilty but now I have the time to pay it due attention and really can’t wait as so many friends have raved about it.

Suite Française by Irène Nemirovsky

Another book that I’ve heard a lot about and have been meaning to read it for a long, long time – can’t wait to read it!

Headhunters by Jo Nesbo

This one was a birthday gift from a friend who is a big Stieg Larsson fan and recommends this book as a good crime thriller. I must admit that I have never actually read the Millennium Trilogy, once again these novels sat on my bookshelf for a while and I even started The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo a couple of years ago but with so much reading to do for uni I couldn’t commit to getting addicted to a trilogy so I dropped it for a little while (turned into a couple of years!!). Hope Headhunters will be a gripping book for the beach!

The Invisible Circus by Jennifer Egan

I got this book as a freebie for joining Book Oxygen’s Inner Circle. I’d heard of Egan’s Visit from the Goon Squad but it hadn’t ever really dropped into my list of books to read. The blurb looks promising for this title though and I think it’ll be a good holiday read. Will update you on my return!

The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
I won this book from Heavenali as part of the Literary Blog Hop Giveaway and I think it sounds hilarious. You will probably hear me giggling from across the Aegean Sea at this one! Can’t wait to read it either. 🙂

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

I really can’t remember how and where I came across this title, all I really remember is that the book cover had a photo of books on the front and I decided I wanted to read it. From the blurb I am expecting a bit of a gothic family saga and hope I will not be disappointed as I do love gothic fiction.

On their way are Juan Pablo Villanova’s Down the Rabbit Hole and Anne Stothard’s The Pink Hotel. If they arrive on time then they will also accompany me on holiday. If not, I have my boyfriend’s selections of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby, Ken Kesey’s One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest and, a wee present I gave to him, James Kelman’s Booker Prize-winning novel How Late it was, How Late. He’s also taking Anna Karenina but since I read that recently I think I’ll be sticking to something a bit less weighty and more modern!

Whatever the weather, I’m sure it’ll be a great holiday in great company. Excited about the book list, and sharing my thoughts once I’m back on British soil. It means I won’t be back on here until the end of July so I hope you all enjoy the summer (!) and I will be back with you within not too long.

In the meantime, please do have a wee look at my reviews of The History of Love, Grace Notes, and By Night in Chile – maybe they will give you some ideas for your own holiday reading!

Jennifer 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Literary musings

3 responses to “Holiday Reading

  1. Great reading stack there. Hope you enjoy The House of Mirth – I look forward to hearing what you think. I read The Thirteenth Tale a couple of years ago – and really rather liked it, Shantaram was an odd one for me – I read it in a week on holiday a few years ago – I ended up quite liking it but disbelieving most of it, and so was never really sure if it was fiction or non fiction.

    • Jennifer Wallace

      Can’t wait for the holiday and the chance to really get stuck into these books. I have heard that Shantaram can be a little hard to believe but that it’s really good nonetheless!

  2. Suite Française is very good especially considering it is not a finished work. I have also read The Thirteenth Tale – I liked all the literary references.

Leave a Reply

