Blog Review of 2012

A quick round-up of my first year in blogging.

Cleveden Bookshelves

Way back in January last year, I took the decision to start this blog properly, and to try and read books I had been meaning to read for ages or new ones I’d just discovered. I started it off with my post New year, new booklist and I thought that on looking back over it that I would hardly have read any of them. I’m pleased to say that’s not quite the case: out of the 22 on my list, I’ve read 11 in full and dipped in and out of 2 of them.

I managed to read 46 books last year – I had set myself a target of 52 but didn’t quite manage it. The main reason for this is a few changes in my life recently. I moved closer to my work and now have a 20-minute commute compared to an hour and 20 minutes. I used to do a lot of reading on the bus and could easily meet my target of a book a week but now, although I have more time, I’ll admit that half of it is taken up by an extra hour in bed in the morning! Since the end of November, I had been reading one book. This book was called We Need to Talk About Kevin. I had been enjoying it but the problem is I kept getting distracted by shorter reads, opting for poetry, or short stories or little snippets from The Etymologicon. I’m hoping I’ll get it finished this year as my TBR list is growing continuously! I’d also like to add that this time last year I definitely didn’t know that TBR meant ‘to-be-read’. I’m aiming for 52 books again this year!

I really enjoyed my first proper year of blogging, and I’ll try to keep up the blog posts more regularly. I sometimes get involved in posts more than others, usually when something has sparked my imagination, or a book review I’m writing grows into something more. My favourite posts to write this year have been:

My Quarter-Life in Books
My review of The Book of Tea by Kakuzo Okakura
Book Week Scotland – My Top Ten Scottish Books

I have really enjoyed reading and discovering other blogs, and even when I’m not writing blog posts, I still like to spend a little bit of time on my lunch hour to check out blogs like Lucybird’s Book Blog, Heavenali, Leeswammes, Bundleofbooks, Winstonsdad’s Blog and Savidge Reads. I also took part in my first blog hop! (Again, I would’ve had no idea what this meant this time last year…) It was really fun, I was overwhelmed by the traffic and was really pleased to make some new books blog discoveries.

And, of course, to finish off, my list of the best books I have read this year. Some are thrillers, some literary fiction and even a YA title features – looking back over everything I have read this year takes me back. My life has changed quite a bit in the past twelve months and it was really nice to think back to what I was doing when I was reading these books. That’s something that I really love about reading; there are always books that will remind you of a certain time in your life and transport you back there.

Here’s the list:

And the Land Lay Still
by James Robertson
Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
The History of Love by Nicole Krauss
Paris Trance by Geoff Dyer
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng

What were your blogging and reading highlights of 2012?

5 Comments

Filed under Random Posts

5 responses to “Blog Review of 2012

  1. Happy New Year! And thanks for the mention! 🙂

    I loved your review of The Book of Tea and must remember to buy it some day. I’m also looking forward to read The History of Love at some point very soon! Let’s hope this year will include just as many good books as last year!

    • Thank you! And Happy New Year to you too! I’m already excited about the books I’m going to read this year. I have a feeling they’re gonna be great. Let me know your thoughts on The History of Love!

  2. Fab review of the year, I’m happy to have stumbled across your blog via Twitter today. I’m new to blogging in 2012 too and I like the way it has broadened my horizons and made me pick up books I would never have considered before. I love how varied your list of favourites is – I’m really keen to read Paris, Trance and The Thirteenth Tale (although have to say I was not a big fan of Before I Go To Sleep!). Hope your 2013 is just as much fun!

    • Thank you, glad you enjoyed it. I think Before I Go To Sleep was just a quick read that I really enjoyed, but one that made me think too. I don’t read that many thrillers so it was a nice change of pace! You’re right about blogging, I think it changes your relationship with books and discovering books blogs always helps me find books I wouldn’t have come across elsewhere. Hope your 2013 blogging goes as well as 2012 has!

  3. Many thanks for the mention seems like great first year of blogging all the best stu

Leave a Reply

