Evelyn Waugh Month: Vile Bodies

Next up in my month of reading lots and lots of books by Evelyn Waugh (ahem, one so far…), the next book I’m reading will be Vile Bodies. The blurb on the back reads:

vile bodies

‘In the years following the First World War a new generation emerges, wistful and vulnerable beneath the glitter. The Bright Young Things of ‘twenties Mayfair, with their paradoxical mix of innocence and sophistication, exercise their inventive minds and vile bodies in every kind of capricious escapade. In a quest for treasure, a favourite party occupation, a vivid assortment of characters hunt fast and furiously for ever greater sensations and the fulfilment of unconscious desires.’

It sounds like a lot of fun! I was inspired to read this book after watching Stephen Fry’s rather wonderful film Bright Young Things on which it is based. Hoping to watch the film again after reading Vile Bodies.

Also coming up this week is my review of Scoop, the first of my reads for Evelyn Waugh Month.

2 Comments

Filed under Literary musings

2 responses to “Evelyn Waugh Month: Vile Bodies

  1. I have quite literally just finished reading Vile Bodies. I thoroughly enjoyed it, very funny. I’m not yet sure how I will be able to review it accurately – but will try – probably not until tomorrow though.

  2. I thought Bright Young Things was I wonderful film, too. I didn’t realise it was based on Waugh’s novel

Leave a Reply

