Evelyn Waugh Month: A Handful of Dust

a handful of dust

I have been a little slow on my reading this month – I can’t believe it’s almost May already! I’ll finish off Vile Bodies today ( I would have finished it last night if I hadn’t left it in my desk at work!) and post my review this evening. In the meantime, I’m looking forward to the next book I’ll be reading by Evelyn Waugh, A Handful of Dust:

“After seven years of marriage the beautiful Lady Brenda Last is bored with life at Hetton Abbey, the Gothic mansion that is the pride and joy of her husband, Tony. She drifts into an affair with the shallow socialite John Beaver and forsakes Tony for the Belgravia set. Brilliantly combining tragedy, comedy and savage irony, A Handful of Dust captures the irresponsible mood of the ‘crazy and sterile generation’ between the wars. The breakdown of the Last marriage, is a painful, comic re-working of Waugh’s own divorce and a symbol of the disintegration of society.”

I think this sounds just wonderful and highlights what I’m really enjoying about reading lots of Waugh books together – they all complement each other so well and although the stories are different of course, there are common themes running throughout. Really looking forward to starting this one – tonight if I’m lucky!

Read more about what I’m reading for Evelyn Waugh Month.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

