World Book Night 2013: April 23rd

2013_WBN_Logo

It’s World Book Night tonight so I’ve written a little post on being a giver for the website of publisher Canongate Books, where I am lucky enough to work. I’ll be giving away the wonderful memoir Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? by Jeanette Winterson, an author who I greatly admire and one who has had an incredibly interesting life. I’m feeling nervously excited about being a giver, and my plan at the moment is to hand copies of my book out to people on the streets of Leith as that’s where I picked up my books. I’m hoping that this weather continues into the evening – rain showers have been making me nervous that I’ll be trying to hand out soggy books later on! Fingers crossed, and I’ll let you all know how it goes.

The lovely editions of Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? for World Book Night 2013

The lovely editions of Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? for World Book Night 2013

I think the project is such a wonderful idea, a way of encouraging those who don’t read regularly to read something different and hopefully inspire them to discover different books. I love the special World Book Night editions that have been created as not only do they include the book in full, but also excerpts from other books by the writer, a poem on the back inside cover, and an excerpt from a book recommendation from the author themselves.

Jeanette Winterson’s choice is May We Be Forgiven by A.M. Homes. It’s on the shortlist for the Women’s Prize for Fiction this year and is a book I would love to read – duly added to my Wish List!

If you want to find out more, you can read my blog post here.

4 Comments

Filed under Giveaways

4 responses to “World Book Night 2013: April 23rd

  1. We had great plans for an event at our local library this evening and then the local authority decided to cut back the opening hours and it is now closed on a Tuesday. I hope you have a good time giving out your books.

    • Hi Alex, I’m so sorry to hear about that. Unfortunately this is something that we keep seeing happen, where arts and culture take the hit over other public services when money is tight. Do you have any plans to reschedule? I certainly enjoyed handing my books out and really hope that you get to do so too.

      • We’re going for Thursday but it seems like a bit of an anticlimax.

      • That is rather a shame. I’m sure it’ll still be great fun – even if it is slightly delayed. It seems like projects such as World Book Night and events like yours are all the more important now than ever! Hope all goes well.

Leave a Reply

